WhatsApp, a messaging app owned by Meta, has released a feature that prevents users from capturing screenshots of view once messages.
When using WhatsApp’s “view once” feature, your message will only be seen to the recipient once, and they will not be able to save a copy of it.
When users share photographs or videos, a button to “Add a caption” displays next to the photo or video. A single playback may be triggered by clicking the symbol.
WhatsApp users on the receiving end may only see the message once. The programme disables the phone’s screenshot function, so the recipient can’t save the message even if they try.
In addition, the screen recording functionality of practically all modern cellphones is also inoperable. Once the “view once” prompt has been shown, the recording will become dark.
WhatsApp is now working on releasing the ‘view once text’ functionality, after the rollout of the ability to restrict screenshots of view once messages. According to WABetaInfo, the feature is now only accessible in the Android beta version of WhatsApp and allows users to send messages that can only be read once before they expire.
Once implemented, users will be able to use the functionality by tapping a padlock icon next to the app’s standard “send message” logo.
The same restrictions on forwarding and copying that apply to view once media will also apply to view once text messages.