Pakistani Cricketers Nominated for ICC Awards


Pakistan’s men’s team captain Babar Azam, batter Mohammad Rizwan, and women’s team all-rounder Nida Dar were all nominated for ICC awards 2022 on Thursday.

Rizwan is up for ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022, while Dar is up for ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022.

Azam has been nominated for the ICC Men’s One-Day International Cricketer of the Year Award for 2022.

Previous winner Babar Azam is a strong contender to win again in 2022.

This year, Azam proved his worth in the 50-over format, earning him a spot in the rankings for one-day international players (ODIs) since July 2021.

The 28-year-old had eight scores of 50 or more in his nine 2022 matches, three of which were hundreds. He ended the year with 679 runs and an incredible 84.87 batting average.

Babar’s year as captain of the ODI squad in 2022 was likewise a remarkable one, as they swept all three series they played in that year.

Mohamad Rizwan is nominated for T20I player of the year, just like his skipper. Also in 2021, the wicketkeeper batter was chosen player of the year.

This right-handed batsman played in 25 Twenty20 Internationals in 2022, scoring 996 runs while also catching nine balls and stumbling three times. He was the backbone of the Pakistan T20 squad and maintained his stellar performance from his record-breaking year in T20Is in 2021. Rizwan finished the year as the second highest run scorer among men in Twenty20 Internationals, behind only Suryakumar Yadav.

In 2022, Rizwan scored 175 runs in the T20 World Cup, including 10 half-centuries, tied for the joint-most by any Pakistani batter.

Also in 2022, Rizwan was the best hitter in the world according to the ICC’s T20I Player Rankings for men. At the conclusion of the year, he has an 836 rating, putting him in second place.

Nida Dar, an all-rounder, was named the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year in 2022 after she amassed 396 runs and 15 wickets in 16 T20I matches at an average of 56.57.

She took the second-most wickets in women’s T20 internationals and became the first Pakistani bowler to reach 100 T20I wickets.

Besides Nida, the likes of Indian batswoman Smriti Mandhana, New Zealander Sophie Divine, and Australian Tahlia McGrath are up for the award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here